PDA

View Full Version : Hello everyone!!

AmberDoodle
04-07-2011, 12:53 PM
Good morning everyone! I discovered this community yesterday while putzing on the internet looking for stage makeup advice and fell in love with this board!! It's so inspirational, supportive, and informative!!

My name is Amber and I'm doing my first Figure show April 16 (Fitness Atlantic) in Connecticut. It's mainly a practice one for a show two weeks later -- the Jay Cutler Classic on May 8. I plan on competing primarily in NPC shows in my little area of Boston but decided as an amateur the more competitions I do the more comfortable I will get with being on stage. :)

I've been actively training for the Jay Cutler classic since December which is not very long I know. Before that I was a competitive fencer and casual weight lifter. I started lifting weights a couple of years ago to start losing weight (I was 210lbs at 5'1") and fell in love with it! It's the main thing I used to lose all the weight -- I am 1/2 lb away from losing 100lbs -- aside from a brief stint of half-marathon training/racing last year from December-February. I finished the half and promptly decided running is just not my thing.

In my non-training life I am a full night time massage therapy student who works full-time as a receptionist during the day and for a bath and body store when I have time because I love their products. I decided to go back to school after getting my bachelors because I really dislike fixing computers at this point and wanting training in something that was a form of alternative/complementary medicine. With my free time I love to cook, hike, read, and brew beer (which I sorely miss having at the moment).

So ummm that's me. I attached a few of my most recent progress photos from 2 weeks ago. Please ignore the goofy smile -- we take them at about 530am after cardio and I'm always a little loopy/sleepy.

Becca Staggs
04-07-2011, 12:58 PM